Skip to main content

What is the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)?


The NDIS is a government initiative that is aimed at improving the lives of people with disabilities in Australia. This national scheme provides funding directly to individuals, prioritising those who have permanent and significant disability.

Over 4.3 million Australians are living with some form of disability, and within the next five years, the NDIS is expected to provide over half a million of these people with much-needed support and services.

Whether it comes in the form of access to healthcare, housing, or community program, the NDIS provides support to help people with disabilities thrive and fully participate in all aspects of society.

The objectives of the NDIS


  • To support the independence and social and economic participation of people with disabilities;
  • Providing reasonable and necessary support that respond to the individual needs of each person;
  • To promote inclusion of people with disabilities in the community;
  • To build the capacity of both families and carers, in order to support full family participation;
  • Recognize that for many people with permanent disabilities, lifelong support will be required in order to ensure maximum independence and quality of life.

Who is eligible for the NDIS?


four colourful squares explaining about ndis eligibility

  • You live in Australia and are an Australian Citizen, have Permanent Residency or hold a protected special visa category
  • Aged 7 to 65 at time of application
  • Your disability affects how you manage your everyday activities
  • You need some support to reduce future needs

Important: To be eligible for the NDIS, a person must undergo an assessment process that takes into account both their functional impairment as well as whether that impairment is likely to be permanent (for those under age 65) or has lasted for at least two years (for those aged 65 years and over). The goal of this assessment is to ensure that people receive the care and support they need.

What are the sections of the NDIS support budget?


three colourful squares explaining about ndis budget

  • Core – Support your day-to-day needs. From personal care to daily activities, social and community programs.
  • Capital – It’s designed for higher-cost pieces of assistive technology.
  • Capacity building – This budget is allocated to social and community participation activities.

The NDIS is a vital program that helps people with disabilities to access the resources they need in order to participate fully in society. Whether it’s through healthcare, housing, or community programs, the NDIS provides essential support for people with disabilities so that they can achieve their goals and live happy, fulfilling lives.

If you or someone you know may be eligible for an NDIS plan, visit the NDIS website to learn more about how to apply.

Leave a Reply